How to insert an exponent in word quickly and simply

How to insert an exponent in word? Composing text in Word has become very common for everyone, but writing mathematical formulas such as exponents or equations can still be a significant challenge. However, don’t worry, follow the article below to learn how to do it!

The instructional article is carried out on a computer with Word 2013. Additionally, you can perform these steps on various Word versions, including 2003, 2007, 2010, 2016, and on MacOS with similar actions.

Benefits and purpose of writing exponents in Word

  • Create correct requirements of text such as formulas Math, Chemistry, Physics.
  • Emphasize or note with small lines that catch attention.
  • Can be edited in accordance with standards in text editing.
  • Record C-degree characters, hats, experiences in Word.

How to insert an exponent in word?

This method can be used for all versions of Word 2003, 2007, 2010, 2013, 2016

Instructions on how to write exponents (superscript) in Word

To write exponents (superscript in Word) we use the key combination Ctrl + Shift + =

In this example, I will write X squared (X2 with the number 2 will be on top of the letter X) as follows:

Step 1: Enter the character X > Press Ctrl + Shift + =

Enter the character X > Press Ctrl + Shift + =
Enter the character X > Press Ctrl + Shift + =

Step 2: Enter the number 2

Note: If the next character you don’t want to write with exponents anymore, Press Ctrl + Shift + = again to return to normal typing!

Enter the number 2
Enter the number 2

Instructions on how to write subscript in Word

To write the lower index in Word, use the key combination Ctrl + = !!

In this example, I will write the Chemical Formula of Water (H2O) with the number 2 below

Step 1: Enter the letter H > Press Ctrl + =

Enter the letter H
Enter the letter H

Step 2: Enter the number 2 > Press Ctrl + = > Enter the letter O

Note: Please remember to press Ctrl + = to return to normal content typing before entering the letter O!!

How to write an upper and lower index in MacOS

To write an exponent (superscript), press a combination of keys: Command + Shift + =

To write the subscript, press the key combination: Command + =

Instructions on how to write exponents in Font

For versions of Word 2007, 2010, 2013, 2016 and on MacOS the way to create exponents is much simpler, since the indicators are already available on the toolbar.

How to write exponents (superscript) in Word versions 2007, 2010, 2013, 2016 and on MacOS

To write the superscript in Word using Font , do the following:

Step 1: Type in the text as normal > Black out the character or digit you want to write in an exponent style.

Black out the character
Black out the character

Step 2: Blacked out Go to the Home tab > Font > Select character X2

Select characters X2
Select characters X2

How to write a subscript in Word versions 2007, 2010, 2013, 2016 and on macOS

To write index under Word in Font you do the following:

Step 1: Type in the text as normal > Black out the character or digit you want to write in the subscript style.

Black out the character
Black out the character

Step 2: Go to the Home tab > Under Font > Select characters X2

Select characters X2
Select characters X2

How to write exponents in Word 2003

On the 2003 version of Word, the option X2 (to write subscript) or X2 (to write superscript) is not available in the menu bar.

To write the exponent above and below in Word 2003 you do the following:

Step 1: You enter a formula or calculation that contains the characters you want to format in an upper or lower index > Black out those metrics.

Black out those metrics
Black out those metrics

Step 2: Right click > Select Font

Right click > Select Font
Right click > Select Font

Step 3: In the Font interface> Under Effects > Select Superscript (exponent) or Supscript (subscript) > Click OK.

Click OK
Click OK

How to change the upper and lower index format to normal text

To change the exponent or subscript format to normal letters, do the following:

Step 1: Fill in exponential or subscript characters or numbers.

Fill in exponential or subscript characters or numbers
Fill in exponential or subscript characters or numbers

Step 2: Right-click > Select Font > Under Effect > Uncheck Superscript (exponent) or Supscript (subscript) > Click OK.

Click OK
Click OK

Step 3: Data has been changed.

Data has been changed
Data has been changed

How to insert an exponent in word? And those are very simple ways to be able to write exponents, upper and lower numbers in Word. Please refer and follow to have 1 text as you like. If you have any questions, please leave a comment below, and if you find it good, please share it with your friends. Good luck!!

Related Posts

Cách cài đặt font chữ mặc định cho Word đơn giản, dễ thực hiện nhất 1

Cách cài đặt font chữ mặc định cho Word đơn giản, dễ thực hiện nhất

Trong quá trình soạn thảo văn bản, việc sử dụng một font chữ nhất quán và phù hợp không chỉ tạo nên tính chuyên nghiệp cho tài…

Giải Pháp Hiệu Quả Khi File Word Không Cho Chỉnh Sửa 5

Giải Pháp Hiệu Quả Khi File Word Không Cho Chỉnh Sửa

Trong quá trình sử dụng Microsoft Word, không ít người dùng gặp phải tình trạng file Word không cho chỉnh sửa, gây ra nhiều phiền toái và…

Khắc Phục Lỗi Ko In Được File Word: Nguyên Nhân và Giải Pháp Hiệu Quả 9

Khắc Phục Lỗi Ko In Được File Word: Nguyên Nhân và Giải Pháp Hiệu Quả

Việc in tài liệu là một phần không thể thiếu đối với dân văn phòng, sinh viên, và học sinh trong quá trình làm việc và học…

Hướng Dẫn Soạn Thảo Nội Quy Phòng Cháy Chữa Cháy File Word Đầy Đủ 13

Hướng Dẫn Soạn Thảo Nội Quy Phòng Cháy Chữa Cháy File Word Đầy Đủ

Phòng cháy chữa cháy (PCCC) là một trong những hoạt động quan trọng, có vai trò thiết yếu trong việc bảo vệ an toàn cho con người…

So Sánh 2 Bản Word Sự Khác Biệt Giữa Word 2016 và Word 2019 17

So Sánh 2 Bản Word Sự Khác Biệt Giữa Word 2016 và Word 2019

Phần mềm xử lý văn bản đóng vai trò quan trọng không chỉ trong công việc mà còn trong học tập. Trong số các phần mềm này,…

Những Cách Tách File Word Thành Nhiều File 22

Những Cách Tách File Word Thành Nhiều File

Microsoft Word là một phần mềm xử lý văn bản được phát triển bởi Microsoft, lần đầu tiên ra mắt vào năm 1983 dưới tên Multi-Tool Word…

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *